Here’s why some Coca-Cola bottles have yellow caps
- On Passover, observant Jews refrain from eating leavened foods or foods with leavening ingredients.
- The yellow caps indicate that the soda is kosher, or fit, for drinking on Passover.
- It’s made with Coke’s original recipe of sucrose instead of corn syrup.
Regardless of location of the famed red-and-white color pattern tells you exactly what you’re getting. However, when you go back home and visit your neighborhood corner store, you may discover that certain Coke bottles seem a little different. What exactly are those yellow caps? They’d never been there before.
What does a bottle of Coke with a yellow cap mean?
Image result for Coca-Cola With A Yellow Cap Bottle
The switched-up lid shade is about more than aesthetics: The yellow caps signify that the soda inside is kosher for Passover. Kosher, which means “fit, proper or correct” in Hebrew, describes food that adheres to dietary laws in Judaism, according to KLBD, one of the world’s leading kosher certification agencies
Those one-of-a-kind bottles, however, are not an error; rather, they are intended to convey a specific message to customers. Only those in the know comprehend the exact message.
There are now a variety of colored caps on Coke bottles, so what distinguishes these yellow ones? Typically, the caps signify the flavor of the drink, such as beige for vanilla. The bright yellow ones, on the other hand, do not. Furthermore, these particular bottles are not accessible throughout the year. You’ll only be able to notice them for a limited time.
Yellow hats first appear in stores during the spring season. Keep your eyes alert, and you could just get a glimpse of them in person.
The yellow bottle caps, on the other side, are in a somewhat different predicament. Yes, they are limited in quantity, much like the multicolored cans.
There is a little change in the drink’s ingredients when comparing that formula to the one used in regular Coca-Cola. Coca-Cola in yellow-capped bottles does not contain high-fructose corn syrup, although regular Coca-Cola does. Instead, such beverages include sucrose, a sweetener derived from both beet and cane sugar.
That may look to be highly random on paper.
Why change a single component while leaving the others alone?
It’s really not that difficult. The change is intended for people who observe Passover. Corn syrup, like a number of other foods, is forbidden during the annual Jewish celebration. Sucrose, on the other hand, is not prohibited, so Passover adherents can still enjoy a yellow-capped Coke.